… and I Will Serve the Lord

Romans 10:13-15 13 for, “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”[a]

14 How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them? 15 And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written: “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!”[b]

Since the very time of Creation, God has created us for a purpose. For this I know we are called by God to receive His Son as our Lord and Savior, there is a special calling to which we are called to do for the Lord. What a privilege indeed for me – knowing who i am, where i have come from and a sinner would be called by God not only to be His child but to serve Him in the ministry, place, time and season.

Sometimes I overlook this blessing when i am too consumed of my own self – when pride attack me and would be thinking of my own want and desire to do in life. So for the longest time I have been preparing for this moment to which i will be sent. The moment has finally arrived but as much as I think I was ready was also a little seed of “should I carry on the cross?”  trying to sprout. When you are so ready and you realize that you will be taken out from your comfort zone.

When I heard my assignment I don’t know what to expect and where it would be. Is it “to the ends of the earth?” indeed it was. I never thought I would be crossing regional borders. My assignment was in a very remote place, no cellphone signal, technology is limited to TV where only few families can also afford.

Bearing in mind that I am here for a purpose, I asked God “Lord, what am i here for?” God answered me through this verse Rom. 10:13-15. At first I didn’t understand why this verse. This is not also the first time God gave me this verse. After a brief sharing with a Pastor then I realized that beyond our own assessment from what our eyes can see and perceive, are spiritual things that only through God’s Spirit can teach us and reveal to us. Beyond my own knowledge and wisdom of what I think the congregation needs is God’s very own purpose for the Church. God allowed this church to survive for more than 50 years despite its ups and downs, despite not having a shepherd but they still come to the church and worship. So where then I will come in?

Again, questions after questions, but my heart was settled for God never fail to answer me. I was finally installed after two months in the church. After the installation there was a different spiritual feeling I felt. I’m even more determined and focus to serve and just be an instrument of God for them. As my mentor would always say “It’s not about you, it’s about God”

Leave a Reply

